Roll, Rabbi, roll!!!

28 Feb

WOOO!!!!  Day 1 of bike commuting – CONQUERED!!!

Los Angeles is not exactly one of the most bike friendly towns (ahem, it’s really not bike friendly at all) but it totally should be.  There is so much traffic everywhere and just too many cars in general.

So, I took the plunge and joined the commuting revolution.  Here is what I learned after today’s first commute:

1 – I need to slather sunscreen on my cheeks.  I’m like a little tomato now.  Oops!

2 – Side streets are a commuter’s best friend.

3 – I am super out of shape.

I only got one angry honk on the way to school and one guy almost opened his door right into my bike.  But I made it there and back in one piece.

How do I feel?  Fantastic.  My normal commute takes around 30 minutes door-to-door but biking takes about 50.  I feel energetic and pumped from getting such good exercise already!

Now we’ll see how long I need to wait before I can get on a bike again.  My bum is definitely sore.  🙂

Happy and sweaty commuter!!!

The husband and I have decided to ACTUALLY start living a healthy lifestyle again so this is just one part of my recommitment.  The other part is that we’ve planned a menu for the week and are logging our calories in LoseIt!, my favorite online and smart phone app for logging calories.

I’m commuting for more than just weight loss and health benefits though.  I’m sick of using my car to drive 7 miles to school and one or two miles to the store.  Gas is almost in the $4.40 range (waaaaahhh!?!?) and I refuse to waste any more money sitting in LA traffic.  This is a tiny way that I can try to cut down on pollution.

There’s a bike commuting revolution in many parts of America.  Do you commute?  How’s your commute going?!

2 Responses to “Roll, Rabbi, roll!!!”

  1. Lori Oster February 29, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    Wooohooooooooooooooo! That is so awesome!

    I’m jealous that you can commute by bike. My job is only 14 miles from home, but I’d have to ride on big, scary roads to get there. And carry a load of books. I don’t think I could do it.

    You are going to save so much money! I want a picture of the new bike. 🙂

  2. Lori Oster February 29, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    Did you know there’s a little bike option on Google Maps? I just found it. You can click for directions, and then click on the little bicycle man, and it gives you a good cycling route. So cool!

Leave a Reply

